learningCloud (Learning Manager): Trainings
Once you have the training content (Sprint or Channel) prepared, the next step to enroll the students so that they can carry out their training is to create a Training. It is a call to the users that you want to participate in the training, but it also allows you to track their progress. Besides it allows you to create different editions or training sessions of the same content without having to duplicate it, since the same Sprint or Channel can have as many Trainings as you want. Next you will see how to create a Training and how to invite students.
Which users can create and manage Trainings?
First of all you must know which user permissions you must have to be able to manage Trainings. In this case it is the responsibility of users with Administrator access, both General and Group Administrator. Authors and Validators cannot edit Trainings.
Group Administrators have certain limitations. In general they can create a Training, and summon students to any of the existing ones. But they cannot edit or delete a Training that they have not created themselves. Only the group Administrator who generated it, or a global Administrator, can do so.
Create a Training
To create and manage the Trainings you must access the LearningCloud Learning Manager tool. Looking for the Training section in the top bar, where you manage the Sprints, on the right side there is a menu that includes access to the Trainings section.
Here you can edit and delete Trainings, but not create them. To do this you have two options:
- From the three-point menu of the Sprint itself, on the main Learning page.
- Enter inside the Sprint and access the Trainings section.
You can create as many Trainings as you want from the same Sprint. But to start creating them, the Sprint must have been published before.
Setting up a new Training
Clicking on the New Training option displays a side menu with all the configuration options:
- Title: mandatory, by default the same title of the Sprint is assigned.
- External ID: you have the option of assigning one.
Starting date and End date: here you can select the date on which the Training will be opened and closed. The Starting Date is mandatory, it can be entered from the current day, so that the Training will already appear as Opened. If you assign a later start date, it will be shown as Planned, until the day in question arrives, when it will become Opened.
The End date is optional, by default it is blank with the flag Expiration disabled, so the Training will not be concluded. If you deactivate the flag and mark a date, once the C has passed it will be shown as Closed.
Users enrolled in a Planned Training will see the course in My Training area, but will not be able to access the course until the Starting Date arrives. A banner displays the days remaining until that start date. Closed Trainings appear in the Completed carousel, whether they have completed the Sprint or not. Closed Training can be reopened. It is only necessary for the Administrator to modify it, changing the date.
- Carousel: here you can assign the Training to any of the custom carousels you have created. This way it will appear there, in addition to the assigned by default (My learning, Recommendations for you...)
- Featured: with this flag you can assign the Training to the Featured carousel, heading the portal with more visibility.
- Validations: activate or deactivate the option to validate Trainings. When a student has completed the Training of a Sprint, and is enrolled again for another Training of the same Sprint, the system can validate it so that the student does not have to complete it again. The same happens when a Sprint is included in a Channel, and the subscribed student has already completed a Training of that Sprint. By default this option is disabled.
- Free Enrollment: to enable or disable this option. If enabled, the learners will see this Training in the Recommendations for you carousel, and they will be able to manually enroll themselves in the Sprint if they want to. If disabled, enrollment will be mandatory, and the Sprint will appear in the My learning carousel. By default this option is enabled.
- Reviews: if this option is enabled, students who complete the Sprint can rate the Sprint and see the ratings of other students. By default this option is disabled.
- Comments: if this option is enabled, students will be able to leave comments on the Sprint Activities, and see the comments of other students. By default this option is enabled
- Ranking: if this option is enabled, students will be able to see a specific ranking for each Training, with their classification and their classmates' according to the points obtained in the Sprint. By default this option is disabled.
- Permanent Access to Content: if this option is enabled, students will be able to continue accessing the content once the training has closed whether they have completed the Sprint or not. The access is in review mode, so it is not possible to continue the training or send new progress data.
If the call is a Direct Enrollment call (mandatory) and Permanent Access to Content is enabled, when the training is closed (manually or because the end date arrives) the Sprint will appear in the Completed carousel even if the student has not completed it or started it. This is the way to continue providing the student with permanent access to the contents.
In case the training is a Free Enrollment, the Sprint will only show if the student has enrolled in the Sprint before the training closed. Otherwise, it will no longer appear in any carousel.
Once all the fields have been configured, click on the √ SAVE button to create the new Training.
Summon users to a Training
Once you have created the Training, you can access it in two ways:
- By going inside the Sprint and clicking on the Trainings section at the top.
- From the Learning tab, by clicking on the Training access in the left menu and looking for it in the list.
The entry to the Training shows you a series of previous information (Title, Rating, State...) and a drop-down menu in the three points on the right side. Clicking on it shows the function to Summon students. This call can be carried out in three different ways:
- CSV Management: you can register several users at the same time by uploading to the platform an Excel file in CSV format, containing a series of data concerning these users: user name, email.... distributed in columns. Clicking on this option displays a side menu with three options:
- Upload a CSV, to upload the file with the users' data.
- Empty CSV Template, to download a template with the indicated format and the fields to be filled in. Fill in these fields with the users you want, one per row, and use the previous option to upload the file and register them in the Training.
- CSV with current users, to download a CSV file of the same format with the list of users already registered to the Training.
Group Management: you can also directly register all the users that belong to a group or subgroup that you have created with the Users Management tool.
Clicking on this option displays a new side menu with the list of all existing groups. You can use the Search for groups box at the top to find the group you want by name. Once you find it, activate the flag on the right and click on the SUMMONON button to enroll all the users of that group.
- Individuality: like the previous option, you can register the users individually, one by one. Click on the option and a new side menu appears with the list of available users with student role. As before, you can use the Search for users box to find the user you want, mark the flag on the left side of their name and click on SUMMON to enroll them in the C.
Users included in the CSV must be existing users in the platform, with student role. The Excel file is not used to create new users, if you make reference to a user who is not registered as a student, the platform will not identify him and may return an error.
Delete the Training
Finally, in the three-point drop-down menu of the Training, there's a Delete option, which completely deletes the Training and all its content permanently.
The same way as the Sprints, you can create Trainings for any content Channel. The creation and management process is the same as above.
To create a new Channel Training, go inside the channel itself and click on the + New Training button. To manage the Trainings already created, in the Channels tab of the Learning Manager, click on the Trainings access on the left side to see a list of the existing ones.